<!– The Songlines –>

Ieri a Marta avevo portato Le vie dei canti (The Songlines) di Bruce Chatwin, sicuro che fosse perfetto per lei, avida viaggiatrice e culturalmente onnivora – scienza e letteratura scientifica a parte. Ci ho indovinato pure troppo: l’aveva già. Anzi, sembra abbia letto quasi tutto il Chatwin pubblicato in Italia.

Non mi va di tornare dal mio spacciatore di libri a farmelo cambiare, e poi magari al prossimo incontro con Marta mi sarei comunque dimenticato di portarle il sostituto. Ho fatto l’unica cosa possibile: l’ho mollato alla V, presente alla scena. Dopo un’occhiata alla quarta di copertina, la V tutta contenta ha detto che aveva proprio bisogno di un libro così. Whatever.

Non ho l’esperienza di viaggi di Chatwin, ma capisco il suo amore per il nomadismo. Non perché io stesso voglia trasformarmi in nomade, ma perché i popoli che hanno il nomadismo nel loro passato sono, nella mia esperienza e almeno in qualche senso, “migliori” di noi.



What the whites used to call the “Walkabout” was, in practice, a kind of bush-telegraph-cum-stock-exchange, spreading messages between peoples who never saw each other, who might be unaware of the other’s existence.

(La parola “cum” nella citazione qui sopra è latinorum per “with”. Honi soit qui mal y pense.)

Ho trovato una nota interessante su questo libro. Scrive Peter Lindberg:



Anne Galloway writes:

Unlike Calvino with his “Invisible Cities,” Chatwin presents his story as if it were anthropological fact. Australian Aboriginees have repeatedly complained that Chatwin didn’t actually spend much time with them, and the stories he shares were not actual conversations. This isn’t the first time that writers – or anthropologists – have blurred the line between fiction and ethnography. Carlos Castaneda became (in)famous for making it all up. And certainly, it doesn’t render their work useless or uninteresting or ugly. But it does change it – and what we can do with it.

I was unaware of this. Bear this in mind if you read this book. It’s still a great one, but I’m slightly confused what to make of it. (See my previous post on the book.)


Although aware of Castaneda’s big scam, I did not know about Chatwin’s cheating. However, this does not detract from the value of The Songlines, at least for me who never took it as an anthropology textbook. And I’m pretty sure the V could care less as well.

